Erika Stearly

Erika Stearly peinture contemporaine galerie d'art abordable
Erika Stearly Biographie de l'artiste

Résidente de Pennsylvanie depuis toujours, l'artiste Erika Stearly réalise des peintures des espaces où vivent les gens. Ses peintures, à la fois fictives et biographiques, ont récemment été incluses dans des expositions sur invitation à Philadelphie, Los Angeles et Dallas, TX et ont été présentées dans une exposition personnelle à la Boxheart Gallery de Pittsburgh au début de 2019.

Mme Stearly a reçu de nombreux prix pour soutenir son travail, notamment des bourses d'artistes de la Puffin Foundation, de la Black Rock Arts Foundation et de l'Indiana University of Pennsylvania, où elle a obtenu son MFA en 2014. Elle a été artiste émergente en résidence en 2015 à la Penn State University, où elle a enseigné la peinture, et a été professeure invitée en 2018 à la Kutztown University.   

Déclaration

Nommé en utilisant l'adresse des résidences représentées, je fais des peintures des espaces où vivent les gens. Convaincu que plusieurs approches de la peinture sont valables, l'imagerie de mon travail équilibre une impulsion à rendre fidèlement des objets ménagers contre l'accent mis sur la main de l'artiste. La combinaison de l'abstraction et de la représentation romantise ces espaces d'une manière qui invite le spectateur à construire son propre récit de la scène. 

Au fil des années, j'ai développé une technique de techniques mixtes qui me permet de combiner les caractéristiques de l'aquarelle et de la peinture acrylique. Des formes délicates peuvent être rapidement esquissées ou de grands blocs de couleur peuvent être affinés avec des crayons aquarelle. La peinture acrylique plus épaisse peut recouvrir entièrement les passages existants et conserve ses coups de pinceau. L'utilisation simultanée des deux types de peinture produit une gamme plus nuancée d'effets picturaux. 

Filtrer par:
Type de produit
Prix
Le prix le plus élevé est $1,375.00
$
$
Disponibilité
Filtre

Filtre

Affichage de 8 produits sur 8

Erika Stearly

12 products

Erika Stearly Art

Erika Stearly Art

A lifelong resident of Pennsylvania, artist Erika Stearly makes paintings of the spaces where people live. Her paintings, which are both fictional and biographical, have recently been included in invitational exhibitions in Philadelphia, Los Angeles and Dallas, TX and were featured in a solo exhibition at the Boxheart Gallery in Pittsburgh in early 2019.

Ms. Stearly has received numerous awards in support of her work, including artist grants from the Puffin Foundation, the Black Rock Arts Foundation, and Indiana University of Pennsylvania, where she completed her MFA in 2014. She was the 2015 Emerging Artist in Residence at Penn State University, where she taught painting, and was a 2018 Visiting Faculty Fellow at Kutztown University.    

Erika's website

Artist Statement

Named using the street address of the residences depicted, I make paintings of the spaces where people live. Convinced that multiple approaches to painting are valid, the imagery in my work balances an impulse to faithfully render household objects against the emphasis on the hand of the artist. The combination of abstraction and representation romanticizes these spaces in a way that invites the viewer to construct their own narrative of the scene.  

Over the years, I have developed a mixed media technique that allows me to combine the characteristics of watercolor and acrylic paint. Delicate shapes can quickly be sketched in or large blocks of color can be refined with watercolor pencils. The heavier bodied acrylic paint can fully cover existing passages and retains its brushstrokes. Using both types of paint together produces a more nuanced range of painterly effects.  

 

Erika Stearly art
Buy
Erika Stearly, Corinna's Home in Virginia No. 01 - Original Painting
$280.00
Erika Stearly art
Buy
Erika Stearly, Lily's Home in Orlando No. 03 - Original Painting
$280.00
Erika Stearly art
Buy
Erika Stearly, Flora's Home in Berlin No. 03 - Original Painting
$300.00
Erika Stearly art
Buy
Erika Stearly, Camile's Home in Berlin No. 01 - Original Painting
$300.00
Erika Stearly art
Buy
Erika Stearly, Angela's Seattle Apartment No. 103 - Original Painting
$375.00
Erika Stearly art
Buy
Erika Stearly, Theo's Home in Berlin No. 102 - Original Painting
$400.00
Erika Stearly art
Erika Stearly, Sabrina's Home in Seattle No. 01 - Original Painting
$300.00
Erika Stearly art
Erika Stearly, Erin's Home in Vancouver No. 08 - Original Painting
$280.00
Erika Stearly art
Erika Stearly, Santa Monica - Original Painting
$250.00
Erika Stearly art
Erika Stearly, Corinna's Boho Abode No. 01 - Original Painting
$250.00
Erika Stearly, Angela's Seattle Apartment No. 101 - Original Painting
Erika Stearly, Angela's Seattle Apartment No. 101 - Original Painting
$375.00
Erika Stearly, Angela's Seattle Apartment No. 102 - Original Painting
Erika Stearly, Angela's Seattle Apartment No. 102 - Original Painting
$375.00